Which tool mount to choose

I am struggling to figure out what to print for a tool mount. I printed one for my Dremel which attached directly to the z-axis on my primo. I want to build this needle cutter (https://www.thingiverse.com/thing:4056438) but not sure which mount I need for it. Searching for mounts gives an overwhelming amount of options and not all say what machine they are made for original, burly, primo, etc. Not sure if their were changes to the mounting setup this is my first time building one. Any recommendations on a good mount?

I also want to mount Ryan’s pen mount, but again not sure what I need for the back mount.

I designed a plate in Fusion 360 to connect to the Burly MPCNC, I also designed three adaptors to fit to that plate.

One of these may be of use to you, though the first one may be the best to use as it conncts straight ont the burley plate that Ryan provides. The others were attachments for a digital vernier gauage so I could check the Z axis was level (or the spoilboard was).

MPCNC Mount Plate v18.f3d.zip (93.9 KB)

If you don;t use Fusion 360 I can export them as STL’s for you.

Rob

2 Likes

The needle cutter you reference is designed for the Burly. Almost all mounts on Thingiverse are for the Burly at this point. Since Ryan left the hole spacing on the Z tubing the same, you can 3D print the Burly Tool Mount with extra perimeters and then drill the holes out to accommodate Primo’s larger screws. With this modified tool mount, you will be able to install any Burly tool mounts on your Primo machine. If you upgraded to Primo, you already have a tool mount left over from your Burly. If Primo is your first machine, download any of the part sets for the Burly and you will find a tool mount.

Note the price you pay by using the Burly tool mount on the primo is that tool are further from the Z axis of the machine and the full plate adds a bit of weight to the Z axis. This does not matter for a needle cutter or a pen mount.