Will MPCNC do what I'm looking to do?

I’ve got two projects I need - well, would like - to use a CNC machine on, for precision, repetitive cuts. I’ve never used a CNC before, but man it sounds like fun to have one in my garage. First, I have a set of dollhouse plans that I’m converting to CAD using Draftsight. They will be cut out of 1/4" 4’ x 8’ “normal” plywood. Second, I have some wooden boat plans, cut out of 3mm or 4mm 4’ x 8’ marine plywood. In the dollhouse, I could use a smaller setup (I think the smallest piece is 2’x3’ or so). The boat uses the full 8’ length of the board, cutting some parts on the entire diagonal.

Am I crazy to think of using MPCNC for this? I’m happy to start with a small 30x30 build to learn the system, but would need to expand after that. In fact, it’d be great if I could collapse to 4’x4’ or so, and just lengthen to the full 8’ the times I need it.

Tangentially related, some super-pro-fancy CNC software I’ve seen at a shop arranged all the parts on the board automatically. I assume with estlcam I’ll have to manually lay all those out in Draftsight before I export it out.

In estlcam you can generate the tool paths then arrange them however you want. It won’t optimize the layout for you. You don’t need to use estlcam though you can use the gcode from any software you want.

Most people are not building aa big as you are talking but some have so it can be done.

Theoretically I believe it can be scaled to the sizes you want, but you’ll need supports to keep sagging to a minimum. Stainless steel conduit may be a better choice than the normal EMT conduit to reduce the sagging. Regardless I’d use supports like this http://www.thingiverse.com/thing:1160962 . I’m not really sure how you could support the gantry x and y rails with it being so long.