Wireless XBOX Controller and Random Z Plunge

So I have been playing with my MPCNC for a couple of months now and am getting some pretty decent results. Still a lot to learn. However, I have ruined a couple of nice pieces from a sudden plunge in my Z axis while running ESTLCAM and a wireless XBOX controller. I paused the program and the code looks good. After a couple of times I realized that it could be from my kids playing on an XBOX console in the family room that share a wall with the garage. It seems to coincide.

My question to the broad audience is “could it just be a coincidence, or a likely cause?” Has anyone else experienced this as well? I would think that the controllers are coded to prevent this, but I am not sure if the USB receiver is picking up one of my sons’ other controllers and allowing it to randomly provide input from a weak signal.
I really enjoy the freedom of a wireless controller, but think I should try switching to a wired controller. Thoughts?

I don’t trust wireless for anything I’m not willing to loose signal/control from.

No matter how well built, it’s just too sketchy.

Even my RC quads and helicopters have failsafes in place in the event they loose signal from my transmitter.

Are you looking for an excuse to keep your son off of the xbox? If so, then yes, That’s exactly what it is!

I wouldn’t think that behavior would work very well for gaming though, so I’m going to guess it’s something else. But I also agree with David. Wireless isn’t a good idea when it’s critical. Can you disable the controller (maybe just unplug the receiver) when running gcode? You don’t need it then, do you? That would help eliminate it as a suspect, and it would make it more comfortable (from a reliability standpoint).