Working Height

Hi!

I.d like to know if 4" of working height is suitable for most application while stile not being to high so I dont loose rigidity/stiffness

I’m going to buy the conduit this weekend and want to figure this out soI can buy the proper amount of conduit!

thanks!

Very broad statement. If you look at the gallery I don’t really think there is a standard use.

What is your main goal for the CNC?

Right!

should have thought of this. while I’m looking at the gallery, help me understand the working height.

for example, if I know I’ll ONLY be using 3/4 inch MDF. I should go with 3/4 working height?
or

thag would be 3/4 + 2.87 (as it’s the minimum stated on the cut calculator)

EDIT:

ok, so from what I see in the gallery, heres what I know I’ll be using this machine for: Everything.

Jokes aside, I’ll be using it mainly for wood and plastic. But I really like the fact that you can almost do everything with it. Im a graphic designer by trade, geek at heart, DIY lover. “printing” t-shirt with it sparks something in me, but also I like working wood. I have a speaker buildng project on the table, and a couple of logo sign (wall hanging decoration) to do for a couple friends already.

And I also think of a laser engraver for the (near) future.

My thought process for 4inch working height was: 2.87 in minimum + 2x 3/4 in =4.37in

picked a common speaker baffle (front face) thickness, and mutiplys by 2 because sometimes speaker has 2 baffle, so 1.5inch thick

So between 4in and 4.5 in of working height. Does that makes sense ?

thanks!

seb.

The trick is, and the reason Ryan and I have trouble recommending high Z, longer Z can leave you with less rigidity. The consequence is that you might end up with more failed projects, and slower milling than if you kept it “tight”.