Yvan's Mostly-Free CNC (Introduction)

Hi everyone, I’ve been lurking for a while. I’m Yvan (pronounced Why van?) and I’m a Controls Engineer at a self-driving industrial robot company. My wife-unit and I also run a small farm with chickens, goats, ducks, bees, and god knows what else.

I’ve been holding off on posting this until I had a chance to clean up my shop. It was pretty bad. I am pleased to share that my LR2 is 90% complete, and fully functional. I call it the mostly-free CNC because I’ve been pretty good at scrounging parts from all over the place.

The reason I built this is that when I said I wanted a farm sign my wife got quotes in the $700-2000 range, and I figured I could design and build a CNC for $500. Then I found the LR2, and I skipped the design part.

Things I got for free/cheap

• table/workbench is made from a 2x4 construction shelving unit that I disassembled from my old house
  • 50 year old Sears router from my late dad
  • printed on various colours of filament that I had kicking around
  • Arduino Mega I had kicking around
  • power supply I had kicking around
  • metric bolts from work
  • MDF and plexiglas I found in my shop
  • small shop vac from my late father-in-law
  • Raspberry Pi, which I accidentally smoked with 24V :fire:
  • tractor inner tube for router guard/dust barrier

Things I paid for

• roller wheels
  • GT2 gears and belts
  • stepper motors
  • cheap RAMPS clone
  • stepper drivers
  • limit switches
  • tubes
  • casters
  • miscellaneous electrical panel stuff.

The important details

• Workpiece size: 4 ft x 8 ft x 50cm
  • Table: 2x4 softwood ladder construction
  • Top/spoilboard: None, I’ve just been screwing into the frame
  • XZ plates: Crudely sawn 12mm MDF
  • Router plate: Crudely sawn 6mm plexiglas; design modified to accommodate my router and vacuum
  • End-stops: One at each end of x-axis at the moment.
  • Controller: Arduino+RAMPS with DRV8825 (?) drivers