Z axis falls on one end when I cut power

I’m finding that, when I hit ‘Stop’ on my LCD panel or turn off the power, the -X end of my rails falls down very quickly, but the +X end doesn’t move. Some searching seems to suggest that both ends falling down slowly is normal? Even if it’s normal, it seems like a bad idea, especially if I don’t have software control of my router. . I’ve tried playing with the tension of the slots that the Z rails slide through, and other minor adjustments, trying to either get both sides to fall or neither, but that seems to have no effect. Not sure where I should be looking to find the cause.

Is it really standard to just have the whole gantry crashing down when you cut power? I’m new to CNC stuff, but I’ve got a few friends who are mechanical engineers and they thought that this sounded weird too. I haven’t done much testing yet but it seems like my whole system is working pretty normal, so unless I’m putting a ton of extra stress on the +X end’s Z motor it seems like it should be possible to have it stay in position…

The right way to solve this is have the machine park itself at the end of a job, return to 0,0,0.

Your machine able to fall on it’s own is a good indication your tensions are set well, one side or the other depends on where the router is.

Which stop though? Maybe this is an issue with the TFT sending M84 on a stop. I think you’ve mentioned this before, Ryan.

1 Like

Yeah it could be but if your ending gcode says go back to 0,0,0 and then it powers down nothing happens.

It is only an issue when ending “above last position”

Except 0,0,0 would depend on what part I’m making, wouldn’t it? I don’t really want to be drilling a hole in my table and then having to precisely position all my parts relative to that or something.