Z axis speed ?

Im running the MPCNC with ESTLCAM saving the cnc program directly in ESTL CAM(new support for arduino is great !) onto an sd card and then inserting the card into the lcd controller unit I bought with the kit, has the firmware that came already flashed.

My question is what dictates the speed the z axis moves. I need the z axis to plunge quickly, I gradually increased the plung feedrate in ESTL but when I got to 8mm/s it seemed to stop actually going any quicker than this. Is there something in the firmware limiting Z to 8mm/s ? Is it unwise to try to make it go any faster than this ? I’m drilling very small holes (0.6mm) through stacked soft plastic straight up and down so there’s not much resistance at 30,000rpm.

Any info/advise appreciated, I’m quite new to milling.

8.7mm/s is the firmware max. If you want to try and go faster you will need to switch to 16th stepping and then cut the z steps in half then you can theoretically go twice as fast.

Great that answers my question perfectly ! Thanks. unrelated question - Do you know of anyone implementing a sensor or similar to automatically stop the router if the bit breaks or other unwanted scenarios ? I was thinking of mounting a ip camera to the middle assembly to watch it as another option.

Back on the z speed topic (sorry I went totally off it into a new one!)

As I understand it all I need to do is change the firmware as follows and re-flash:

From this - #define DEFAULT_AXIS_STEPS_PER_UNIT {200,200,4535.44,200}
To this - #define DEFAULT_AXIS_STEPS_PER_UNIT {200,200,2267.72,200}

It will then be possible for the z axis to move at max 17.4mm per second ?
Is there anything I’m missing here ?

Is there also some limiting factor in the acceleration speed ? If so, over what distance are the acceleration speeds applied ?

Would it be possible/easier to change the speed settings using the lcd screen ?