Another flag, just want others to see how well this thing carves

16 Likes

Very nice. What size is it and what bits if you don’t mind?

oh no, i dont mind at all, im pretty open.

flags are 11.25 x roughly 20 (american flags are 10/19)

I use poplar 12" boards so they measure around 11.25 wide.

i use a 60 degree bit for almost all v carving. Just seems to be steep enough to hide minor height changes but still wide enough to get things done in a timely manner.

These flags i do the stars and designs with the 1/4" 60 vbit then i do 2nd pass with a 1/4 downcut for the stripes. If i can get away with a 1/8 bit instead of a vbit I do, but this design didnt really work without a vbit. the 1/8 downcut isnt affected by minor depth deviations.

if you have any more questions feel free to ask

3 Likes

Thanks a lot Andrew. I’m still learning and want to be able to try flags at some point. I have family in law enforcement and would really like to make some gifts for them. :slightly_smiling_face:

i got some basic templates you could have or we could even do a video call one day and i can run you through some of it.

Very kind of you, thanks a lot. I’ve got to get my wife’s pantry done before I do much else but I will take you up on the offer!

wifes are the worse customers lol

2 Likes

Lol the one I work for is a slave driver :rofl:

While I do agree, I’m admittedly afraid to like this post for fear the “algorithms” will somehow report it to my wife.

9 Likes

Management (wife) informed me that I’m not a slave… I’m a long term unpaid laborer that isn’t allowed to leave.

3 Likes

Whose lease is subject to termination at the sole discretion of the leasor. That is how my contract reads.

2 Likes