CNC Newbie - EstlCAM for CAM, ? for 3D Modeling

I’m new to CNC. I’m a programmer not a machinist. I took AutoCAD classes a few decades ago. More recently I modeled and built a patio cover, see below, in Sketch Up. No CAM at all.

Prior to building my MPCNC the most complicated thing I built was a peristaltic dosing pump. I used conventional milling techniques, i.e. no CNC.

I intend to use my MPCNC and Ender 5 3D printer to build complicated things like drones. I will probably build a low rider and mill larger things like furniture too.

It seems like the consensus is that CAM newbies should start with EstlCAM.

What 3D modeling software should I pair with EstlCAM?

1 Like

There are lots of options. It all depends on your level of experience with CAD, the precision you need with your models, and your willingness to pull out your own fingernails.

Personally, I use Gimp and Inkscape to do 2D cuts and carves (signs, flat cutouts, etc) and Fusion360 to do precision 2d cuts as well as 3d modeling.

Fusion360 can be used free of charge if you get one of the startup or personal licenses, but be forewarned, it has a STEEP learning curve, and you WILL get frustrated. If you watch a lot of walkthrough videos and read a lot of forums though, you can get the hang of it fairly quickly.

1 Like

You can use anything that can output either a dxf or svg file for 2d cuts.

If you can produce a STL, then you can ESTLCam can do 3d carves.

I use OnShape.com. It is free if you are a hobbyist, and you are ok with your designs being public.

You can do lots of 3D stuff, and it is made by the founder of solidworks. I have heard it is very solidworks like.

I usually make a sketch, and export them as dxf. You can also make a 3D model, then make a new sketch, trace what features you want, and export that as dxf.

1 Like

Is there a large library of designs on onshape? And if you have their hobbyist plan, can you view and use them?

1 Like

I haven’t messed with the library features.