µCNC

I there.
I’ve been playing around with 3D printers and CNC for a while now (not only on 3D designing and prototyping, but also firmware related subjects). 2 years ago I made a small contribution on Marlin (Axis skew compensation) and more recently for Grbl too, and last year the idea of coming up with my own custom CNC firmware was taunting my thoughts.
Since the second half of last year I started playing around with Arduino IDE to see what I could pull of and was trying to come up with something that has more flexible and less hardware dependable by trying to apply some LinuxCNC base concepts about Hardware Abstraction Layers and µCNC was born.

µCNC was also heavily inspired by Gbrl and was developed so that it’s interface is “Grbl compatible” and can make use of the Grbl tools ecosystem.

µCNC was created with 2 types of HAL.

1. It’s MCU independent and can be extended to other MCU easily.
  2. It can support multiple kinematics. Modifying or adding new kinematics is also easy on µCNC.

If anyone is willing to try the firmware do it with care. It’s still in it’s very early stages and I need the help of the community to try it and report bugs and give feedback about the project.
The project is hosted on Github

Thanks for your attention.

4 Likes

Welcome to the forum. Fascinating project. I am very interested in exploring all the alternative firmware solutions for CNC. Need to get another Arduino and I’ll put this on the to do list of control alternatives.

1 Like

Very neat! Here come a million questions. What boards do you already have working? Is it focused on 32 or 8 bit boards? Have you managed to make the abstraction support advanced drivers like the SPI or UART tmc drivers? Does it work with any of the lcd interfaces? What about CNC.js (I assume it would work with the grbl settings).

1 Like

AWESOME!