Custom solution for heated bed on old printer?

I have a super old Makerbot Replicator 2 without a heated bed, and have all kinds of issues with parts warping. I recently slapped on a piece of glass to alleviate some other problems due to a warped acrylic print bed, but obviously nothing sticks to it without some kind of additional surface like tape.

Everything I’ve found online is $200+ for a heated bed…

• Is there a way I can have an aluminum plate cut cheaply and then purchase a silicone heater?
  • Are there any Makerbot clones that might have a compatible heated bed?

I’m not very experienced when it comes to this so I’m hoping some experts have an opinion :slight_smile:

How big is it? A MK3 bed should be like $20.

Not my images. The actual build plate is 287x171 mm but you have a little less room than that because of how it clips on to the platform below.

I think the correct way to do this upgrade would be to ditch both of the above, cut an aluminum plate (Mic6?), and get some glass to fit right on top? I’m unsure about the heater part or if there’s anything pre-fabricated that I can use.

I was just looking on Amazon today. A full heat bed with magnetic steel sheets were about $100 depending on size.

Do a search for “magnetic build plate” and then another for build plate heater. Pick and choose the sizes you want.

If your willing to take a print size reduction, you could buy a used ender 3 (preferably broken) and steel the heated bead and plate from it… they are only like 150 new. So a broken one should be dirt cheap.

Thanks for the replies. I’ve been thinking…it might be better to just sell my Replicator 2 for parts and get a new printer.

Prusa MK3S is my first choice, but is it overkill? I don’t know a lot about any other options that are currently available.

You could go with a MP3DP

I’m not sure if my Makerbot is up for that task :sweat_smile: