Does anyone create 3D relief files

Does anyone create 3D relief files or can explain a way for me to take a picture(s) and turn it/them into a 3D relief file for carving? I really don’t have the skills to create the files but there has to be an easy way to reproduce items. Anyone now where I can buy a scanner to capture fine carvings for furniture repair? Thanks

I have not tried this yet but I want to. It looks promising. I installed fusion 360 and got my free license but that is it so far.

1 Like

Me too but I'm not very good at it. Estlcam is a program that can do the same thing. I have Artcam 2018 free version. I havent tried it yet but it seems perfect and easy to use. Its no longer made so I got really lucky getting the software. Watch for my comments as I get the software working once I learn it.

1 Like

This peaked my interest so I did an Amazon search on 3d scanners. Cough, cough, cough, Ok, sit down, it appears that anything with 4+ star reviews starts around $1300 and the good portables go up over $5200. I feel that there would still be a pretty steep learning curve in their use too. I think I will keep researching gray scale photo mapping which also seems to have a learning curve also but is much cheaper.

1 Like

Yeah, Jim, I lost my breath when I saw pricing. Grayscale photomapping seems like the only way to go. If I were an engineer, I’d create an affordable 3D scanner. Seems like these and thermal cameras are way overpriced. If you find a good grayscale photomapping program, pm me. I’m def interested. Thanks