New and intro

Hello all.

I’m not sure if this is the right place for a first post, but I’m new here and wanted to post a hello, thank you and introduction.

First my name is Tom and I just got my first 3D printer last week. I’ve since spent a lot of time reading and playing with it to get decent prints. Overall I love it.

My background is in Computer Engineering and networking as well as construction and making stuff.

So when I came across the MPCNC I was excited as I’ve played with CAD way way back and have thought the technology offers all sorts of cool possibilities. But cost has always been an issue. Hence the price of the printers coming down and now seeing this makes me want to jump in.

So I’ve started printing and will be building my 2’x2’ Primo soon!

also if this is the wrong place please move.

Tom

8 Likes

Welcome! I recognize a lot from my own journey down the rabbit hole, in what you are writing.

What differs is that my background is working with people, so figuring the ins and outs have been a steep climb. You on the other hand are better set! :grin:

2 Likes

Welcome! I think one of the strong points of this community is the variety of backgrounds. Lots of different takes when interesting issues crop up.

2 Likes

Just got a 3D printer and went straight to DIY CNC…I like you already!

3 Likes

@Ryan.

Thanks. It’s the engineer in me. Many generations of engineers and builders!

I’ve actually looked at CAD and played with it way way back. I won’t date myself but will say that if you know what a PRIME is then you have an idea. Unfortunately the college I went to just started a CAD/CAM program my last year and at that point I just wanted to graduate so I only took one class. I’ve played with various CAD apps over the years but never had time to mess with them more than enough to wish I had more time and money.