New build questions

Preface: Lowrider2 build for a 24 x 48 cutting area. Using Rambo 1.4 & LCD. Using Fusion 360 cad and cam, using the much appreciate post processor from the Docs for MPCNC. I printed the plastic parts and I cut out the wood parts. X axis is wheeled, y-axis tube. Have drawn crown successfully and repeatedly. Have not implemented stops. Have a touch plate but have not as yet used it. I am a relative beginner at Fusion360 (F360) but am using it for 3d printing so thought I would continue its uses with this.

My questions thus far:

The z-axis height is different from one side to the other, about 0.15mm at all times. I’m not sure why that would be (unless it is related to my machining efforts on the Y plates). Is there anything I can do for this or just surface the spoil board? I intend to cnc new Y axis and 611 plates.

My first efforts are to cut out the 611 and the Y plates and have started with the 611 plate first. This process has been a trip but I am learning. One area I really am guessing at though is where the router is going to go after moving into the place I want it to start from. I jog the machine to the position, lower the z axis to just touch the work piece (following the advise of lower left corner), and reset the coords. I have been not turning on the router so I can first see which way it wants to go and then killing the process if it doesn’t match my expectations and then adjusting my expectations and redoing the machine start point with what matches what it wants to do. How do I quit being the machines bitch and make it work from what I want to do?? (LOL) I’ve read the docs on coords a couple times and I suspect my issue is a lack of understanding the fusion360 side of things. Appreciate any tips or steps to follow.