New Build

Just ordered the kit and will start printing parts for the Mostly 3D tomorrow. I am using a German StepCraft 600 with 3D printing head which I have access to. Have checked out Allted and Bofferle comments here and on Thingiverse. I am anxious to get started. From what I see I will end up with a large build enough platform which I can build on and improve as I see fit. I work as a development engineer and hope to use it in prototyping parts. Keep the suggestions coming! I’ll be reading them and directing others this direction.

Hey carbonrat,

I’m currently writing step-by-step instructions for assembling the CNC frame. If it’s ok I would send you a preview for testing the build process with your kit. I know you wouldn’t need it as an engineer, but perhaps you have some comments on it :slight_smile:

Greetings, Bofferle

Be happy to look at the instructions and comment. Can take some pictures of the process if you need any. It may take some time as I am just now printing parts. Email is shives@yahoo.com. Also I have a bunch of carbon fiber loaded filament. May try it for some the parts requiring strength. Any benefits?

I am getting ready to build this in a couple of weeks after getting the bundle of parts here & would be interested in seeing your step-by-step instructions. I put my 3d printer together from a DIY kit, but am new to CNC machines. My email is db13@zewind.com

Thanks,
David

Hi,
I’ll link the instructions as soon I’ve finished them and send them via email. Don’t know if this filament is required, I tested ABS and PLA so far. ABS shrinks too much and bolts/conduits don’t fit. My PLA parts are really strong (75% infill for any part with a bearing, 50% for the rest, 0.2mm layer height, 1mm outer perimeter, 0.8mm top/bottom solid, using Cura), none broke yet.
Greetings, Bofferle

Hey,