Newbie Here

Hello all. I am new here, but not necessarily to the CNC community.

I preordered and built an X-Carve back in June that I use as my main CNC machine. I was going to but a J Tech Photonics for it so try some laser stuff, but the thought of having to potentially remove the laser to keep all the CNC dust out when not in “laser mode” led me to wanting to build another machine. Was going to buy another XCarve kid w/o spindle since I am familiar with the setup process as well as getting it tuned up and working, but decided to go “cheap” and build something, and this one just looked like too much fun to try.

Except maybe that whole center assembly…that’s the only thing that scares the lights out of me right now.

I just ordered my kit + 3d parts today. I don’t have a 3d printer, but a friend that does, but asking for 130 hours on his machine seemed a little daunting and figured buying the parts from here would save me a ton of time and hassle. I’ll get my parts before my buddy could finish printing them anyway.

I also ordered the 3.8W JTECH laser diode kit today, which will also ship and I should be starting my build process early next week if USPS can get me both boxes.

Look forward to joining the community and the work being done on the laser gcode mods that are going on.

May start a follow up thread…

I know nothing about cutting metal, particularly the threaded rod for Z.

Looking at pictures and things based on default lengths, this thing sticks up HUGE, well above the height of most routers. Since I’m not going to be routing, and I don’t really need anything for super stability while doing a laser diode…how easy it it to drastically shorten the overall height of this monster?

I think I need less than 1" of travel on Z.

Hacksaw is all you need to cut the threaded rod. I would leave yourself at least 4" of z travel. There is no downside. The laser moves slow. A bit different as a 3d printer.

It. Is. HERE.

Bwahahahaha.