Purchasing End mills

All, well the machine is really alive. I have to admit, really hard project; but neat as hell when it works.

I am looking for some cheap/inexpensive 1/4" shank end mills. 2/3/4 flute down cut, Ball Nose, etc. Sine I am new at this I do not want anything expensive. I currently have a set of assorted end mills from Amazon. They are 1/8" shank and I really want to use 1/4" for stiffness, etc.

I looked on Amazon and these are not as cheap as the 1/8" ones and was wondering if there was a super double secret place to get these. As I gand confidence I will step up to some Harvey or Amana mills.

Thanks in advance.
–BA

1 Like

I highly suggest figuring things out with a single flute 1/8" upcut. That can do everything. Yes 1/4" can be faster but 1/8" is extremely forgiving and a ton cheaper. Just get a few of those and do some test cuts. Then spend on some cheap 1/4" then see if the expensive ones do you any favors.

Downcuts are a different beast and take some testing to get the feeds/speeds right. As are large bits on these machines.

If nothing else get at least one or two of my suggestion and go from there.

@vicious1, Ryan; thank you as always. That is what I am doing. Really slow going. 10x5mm half pipe groove, 3d pocket clearing (Fusion 360); using an 1/8" ball nose, 1000mm/m (16mm/s), 2mm step over. To late here to run it tonight; I will either tomorrow or during the week. I ran it on the machine, empty with the DW660 off and away from the piece and it looked right. Maybe to fast. We will see.

I am thinking that the 1/4" will add some stability.

–BA

A ball nose should only be used for 3d carving/sculpting, or a finishing inside radius.

A flat endmill can do things faster…A 1/4" is only faster if your machine is small/rigid enough. if not a 1/8" is by far faster and more accurate.