Questions / feedback about assembly instructions

Hello everyone. I’m new to CNC, and I hope MPCNC is not too ambitious for a way to start. I don’t have access to a 3D printer, so I ordered the parts bundle and 23.5mm parts from this site a couple of weeks ago. Vicious1, thank you for the design, and for shipping the updated roller parts so soon after you released the update. I can see how they’re a big improvement over the old design.

Since I’m going into this blind, I have a few questions/comments about the assembly instructions. I think I’ve gotten most of the parts together correctly after a lot of staring and a little trial and error, but I’ll ask anyway to make sure.

1. Rails: You mention the recommended starting size, but it was unclear to me whether that size is to cut the X and Y rails to 30" or if it’s to plan around a usable space of 21" x 21" which is mentioned on another page (I forget which). I did the math on 21" x 21" and it seemed to work out to just under 20’ of EMT, so I went with that and it seems to have been right, but for other noobs you may want to consider clarifying on that page.

2. Rails: Thank you for the recommendation of the conduit reamer; I had an impact driver already and it made things easy. I didn’t have a good way to cut the conduit squarely though. but after some research I got a “MAGBIT 801.114C MAG801 Tube Cutter Copper/EMT 1/8-Inch - 1-1/4-Inch Cut” from Amazon. I understand it wouldn’t last through a lot of EMT cuts, but it got through the cuts for one MPCNC just fine, and I was able to make the cuts very precise. With the reamer to soften the edges it worked great.

3. Rails: If the “finish” on the conduit makes a difference, it may be worth mentioning on that page. I had bought and cut all of mine before I saw discussion of it here in the forums, so I’m hoping I didn’t mess up by using the non-shiny stuff I got at Menard’s.