RAMBo 1.4 optical v mechanical

Hi all, first post on here. Been circling the MPCNC for 2 months and finally about to start printing the parts for my burly build. I am just learning 3d printing and CNC. Purchased an Ender 3 a month ago and I am obsessed. I believe I am now ready to start my MPCNC build.

I was fortunate enough to get my hands on a RAMBO 1.4 before they sold out; but had to purchase the optical endstop which was not pre-wired. couple of questions.

1: Is it OK to use the optical endstop instead of mechanical?
2: Ryans RAMBOs come with firmware installed… is it easy to flash on my own?
3: Ryans RAMBOs are significantly cheaper… any specific reason why?
4: @vicious1 do you still prefer RAMBo over the Archim 2? I have traced back all the comments and seems this is still the case. I am within 5 days of return policy and just wanted to confirm.

Thank you and look forward to the build and I am sure that I will begin a “new build” thread soon.

• skill_cap

You’d have to come up with your own endstop mounts and flag. Should work, but don’t forget to clean them before every use. They don’t like dirty environments.

1 Like

1)I agree with Barry. They will work unless they are dirty. Probably need firmware edits, haven;t used them in 6 years or so.

2)yup flashed, easy to do as well. Made a page of instructions with lots of pictures.

3)I buy them by the truckload and don’t have to pay employees or for a warehouse. Garage life is awesome like that.

4)Yes, Rambo has it all and is easier to use.

2 Likes

I flashed the board several times to get exactly what I wanted out of the board.

1 Like

The first flash was a little exciting for me, double checking the ug8lib or whichever it was, adding the board definition, trying to figure out why it wouldn’t connect to the arduino ide (hint: it was still talking to repetier…oops). But I was successful thanks to the help on the V1 page.