Router bits Makita in Europe

Hi!

I just finished the test crown and now I’m looking at what router to get… I think I’ll get the MAKITA RT0700CX5J. Seems like a popular machine.

(Or is a 500w China spindle better? I want that Makita anyway for regular routing though :))

Now…bits!
From what I’ve read single flute bits, v-bit (60?) and some ball bit is good to start with.
Most people recommend buying from Ryan here but the shipping is quite expensive to Sweden unfortunately. Also, the Makita router comes with 6mm and 8mm collets I believe which doesn’t fit the 1/8” bits, right?

I’ve looked on AliExpress as well as Amazon but there’s just sooo much that I’m not sure what to pick :sweat_smile: I’ve never used a router or CNC before either.

So, does anyone have some tips on bits that fit this Makita router?

Thanks!

Forgot to add! I’m going to mill wood. No aluminum etc.

As for the 1/8 collet: You will not get around buying one, either from Ryan, which are the ones from Elairecorp. They are pretty good, I bought one before Ryan had them.
Regarding the router bits: in Germany we have a few good manufacturers/shops, for instance Sorotec Online-Shop - Sorotec Online-Shop. I buy everything there. They are quite pricy but absolutely worth it. Shipping to Sweden might still cost a few bucks, but I guess it’s cheaper than from America.

Maybe @turbinbjorn can give you some hints, he is Norwegian, so basically your neighbour. :smiley:

Well hello there neighbour! :smiley:

I’ve bought bits from aliexpress, Ryan and ebay. Getting bits locally from brands like CMT, is priiicey. Ryan has good prices, but shipping and import taxes makes it a steep total. If you go through Ebay, you’ll get shipping and import taxes calculated right at the store, which is super convenient. I wish Ryan had that option, that would make it an easy choice to use his store!