Sense plate setup

If finally gotten the tool length sensor function to work. However when I try to get the z axis sensor to work, it triggers randomly. I know there were suggestions on adding a capacitor and resistor. I am not an electrician. Does anyone have a dumbed down diagram on how to wire these in?

How do you have it wired so far?

I have a small metal plate mounted to the spoilboard. It is connected to the sensor pin on the ramps board. My spindle is already grounded so I don’t have a ground wire hooked up

You need a ground wire going from the spindle to the sensor pin of the board.
Try that first, if it still doesn’t work try looking at “pulldown resistor” on google

The tool length sensor works fine without a ground wire on the spindle, since the spindle is grounded. I’ll try an extra ground wire to see if it makes a difference. I know it is suggested to add a capacitor and resistor into the setup to avoid the ghost sensor connections. I have also seen schematics for it. But I have no idea how to read schematics. As hoping for a simple wiring diagram. Those I can read. Lol

If you wire a reasonably big resistor (> 1kOhm, 10kOhm would be about perfect) between the sensor pin and 5V, then when the sensor isn’t touching anything, it’s voltage will be 5V. That is a pullup resistor, not a pulldown, but same concept.

You can configure arduino to use an internal pullup resistor, I thought.

You still have to be very careful to avoid touching the plate, or touching it with anything that will ground it. I would definitely disconnect it when you start milling.