Sensorless homing is frustrating... (SKR1.3/2209)

Ok, so I have the SKR 1.3 with TMC2209 drivers and TFT35 in touchscreen mode. I went this route with the intentions of using sensorless homing. It seems fairly straight-forward but for some reason, I just can’t get it to work. I have scoured the net trying to find the solution but I’m still a newb at this and some of the information is confusing. And outdated. Some places I’m reading about bending/removing pins or using jumpers. Is that what I’m missing? I thought the SKR1.3/2209s were supposed to be able to do sensorless homing without those physical modifications.

Any help is welcome and appreciated. And I’ll be happy to provide whatever other info you need. I really don’t want to use switches if I don’t have to.

All axes are operating correctly manually with the touchscreen (and in Marlin mode). I’ve even done some successful carving by setting my own X0 Y0 Z0 positions. But when I send G28 X , the X axis moves in the + direction about 10mm and stops, then another ~2mm. G28 Y starts one side of the Y moving in the - direction but the other side doesn’t move and the side that is moving gets hung up and makes that gawd-awful grinding noise until I kill power. Stall sensitivity is set to 100 (tried 128 but same results.) I’m guessing there’s something in marlin that tells the steppers how to move specifically for homing and I’m just missing it.

Planning to use some brackets I printed to level Z and then use a probe to set 0. But right now, I’m more concerned about the XY issue. Although, if you have any info on this Z idea, I’d love to hear it!

This is a LowRider2 using Marlin 2.0.7.2. If you want me to copy/paste some (or all) of my config, let me know.

Thanks for reading and thanks in advance for your help,
Matt-

Anttix was working on this for this board. These were the firmware changes:

1 Like