SoMD new Primo Build (first MPCNC)

Building my first MPCNC and decided to go big or go home, starting clean w/ a Primo.

While I’m new to the MPCNC world, I have some experience on OX CNCs, 3D printing, Arduino, etc. having scratch-built a 1:1 R-series astromech. All cuts (and a fir bit of maintenance) were done on my local makerspace’s Open Builds CNC and LinuxCNC, along with detail part prints on my Prusa i3 Mk2.5.

Currently finishing up printing the black pieces and starting on the yellow (DeWalt color scheme). Unfortunately, when I started the parts buy I picked up a mini RaMBO and 6mm belts, so as I understand it won’t be able to take advantage of the dual end stops but can still run things. Would prefer to run off of the RaMBO and LCD screen vs. needing a laptop connected but can make due if needing to go that route.

Planning on a 24x30" work area and potentially portable build that can be shelved next to my workbench when not in use if I can keep the weight down enough. Mainly want it to cut sheet plastic, acrylic, wood and if up to the job some smaller aluminum pieces.

Will keep the group posted as the build progresses, and as I understand this is a new design, provide feedback on any bugs encountered (vs. simply builder error).

3 Likes

Welcome to clubhouse! Sounds like you already have most of your ducks lined up nicely. If you got the LCD, you can run from and SD card. If you didn’t, you can still get an LCD, and run from an SD card. Or get a RasperryPi, and run V1Pi… :slight_smile:

Please, share pictures, lessons (we all enjoy a good object lesson around here; search for “count to 9”), and stories. Heck, show us your astromech! We’re geeks, too! Well, some of us are. (The best ones, of course) Don’t be afraid to shout out for help, encouragement, or bad puns. We handle all three with wild abandon! :

2 Likes