Tightening up the slap on XY

Just got finished building the MPCNC and I have a few questions as I’m a Noob to just about all of this.

Question 1:

When I first put X and Y up I heard a plastic scraping sound along X. On the other hand, Y moves beautifully. I disassembled and loosened the bolts which helped correct the problem but now there seems to be a lot of slop in the X and Y. This equates to about an 8th inch of play that I really need to tighten up. See video clip. When I was building the center, all of the bolts were so tight that they seemed to be threading themselves in. Although I saw a number of people drilling these out, I felt like tight might be better and so I left them as is for the first test because you can always take more off but you can put it back on. Is it normal to need to drill the bolt holes out?

Question number two:

Question number two:

As I was testing the stepper motors I noticed that they responded intermittently to commands from the full graphic smart controller/prepare/move axis/move X/ move 10 mm/turn knob. At start up everything works as expected, but then after moving on any axis for some time there’s no response to the turn of the knob. Stop moving for a while and then it comes back but the screen reads the wrong location. I went with the Chinese knock off so that could be the problem but I wonder if this is a common thing any help with this would be appreciated greatly.

w.r.t. 2) Are you saying it sometimes misses a turn on the LCD knob, or are you saying it’s skipping steps (grinding noises)?

The axes should move smoothly when powered off, although if they rack, then can get stuck.

w.r.t. 1) I think Ryan or others might know better, but I’m going to guess the advice will be to run it for a few test projects, and then take it apart/reassemble it. Things will loosen up enough to be able to adjust them how you want. I’m not sure though, I don’t have this version of MPCNC.