Tool change during a job: How are you doing it?

Hi Guys,

I’m pretty new to the world of CNC since the MPCNC is my very first machine. For now, I’ve experimented the very basics, but I would like to go further and doing more complicated stuff.

I’m wondering how you people are dealing with tool changes.

Here is my “problems”:

My CNC is very close to the table, for maximum rigidity. So I cannot remove the bit everywhere I want, it has to be in a specific spot where I have a particular hole that allows me to remove it easily.

So I need the CNC to go there whenever a tool change is needed. But how?

Second issue: Changing the bit and securing it tightly may involve using quite a bit of force. So it is likely that at some point the CNC may lose a few steps. In which case, how to fix this?

I have a lot of other questions on this topic but lets just start with these two ones for now. :slight_smile:

I used Estlcam, if this information is relevant.

The gcode below begins right after the last line of gcode in a program before a tool change. My tool change code below is inserted automatically because I put it in the “Tool Change” text section of Estlcam. This can be run from Repetier, but you must have an LCD controller. The click wheel is the only way I have found to restart after an M00

Your machine must have limit switches and end stops to home/square like in the video above. Z must have a max limit switch. Changes to configuration.h in firmware and Repetier must match your machine’s limit switch setup and your machine’s limits must be defined.

You must insert the workpiece’s coordinates any time it changes

So here we go, A program, started with Repetier is running. Z has just been sent to the 2mm “clearance plane” as defined in Estlcam…

G01 X0 Y0 F9600 ;returns x and y to the workpiece origin
G92 X257.99 Y146.29 Z17 ;redefines xyz to their positions relative to the machine’s xyz home
G01 Z40 F480 ; Z to a good height to change a bit