Where to buy the RAMBo 1.4?

I see that amazon has RAMBo 1.4 boards for sale. How big of a mistake would I be making in purchasing one of those instead of waiting for Ultimachine to restock Ryan?

I am overwhelmed with the information available for cnc boards. But to the best of my ability to understand what I am reading it would seem that I need the RAMBo 1.4 board to make use of the dual endstops? Is there another board(in stock) that would be recommended? My intended use of my CNC is routing wood.

The skr pro also works. Ordering from other than Ryan you will have to program the board yourself. There are instructions in the docs pages and an already configured file to program with on the github page

Thank you for the reply. I am reading up on the differences. It would seem that the main difference is that, as a noob, I am more likely to destroy the skr pro… What is your opinion?

The skr pro is easier in some ways and harder in others. We’ve used the rambos for years and we know they are built like tanks. Amazon sells them at pretty outrageous prices though.

The skr pro is new, and my favorite thing is that you can just put a firmware.bin on the sd card and it will flash itself. That makes it pretty attractive to new users. But there is also a lot of new stuff we haven’t learned yet, which makes the rambo better for new users.

1 Like

Thank you. It would appear that I need to order the end stops separately if I go with the skr pro. A quick google search provided me about a weeks worth of reading on the subject. Can you recommend a thread or link on the subject?

Skr pro
https://docs.v1engineering.com/electronics/skrpro/

Rambo
https://docs.v1engineering.com/electronics/ultimachine/

1 Like

BTW, you don’t need endstops to get started. I’ve never had endstops cnc machine and I haven’t missed them. It is different than 3D printing.