Z axis started droping on one side

I am a happy newbie user of lowrider2. I put it all together on a table top in my living room, did crown test which turned out great, then generated some gcode from pictures to get a hang of it - it worked as well, I attached a pan and CNC drew images without any problems.

Then I took it apart in order to change it’s location to my garage. While puting it all together one side of Z axis started to drop uder its own load. It didn’t happend earlier, no matter how high or low I left it it didn’t drop.

I began serching for answers on forum but I didn’t find anything that would address my exact problems. As suggested in one of topics I pluged in all the cables, powered it on and tested if motor works - it worked and it did hold its position even with router in place. Then I disconnected everything and at that time the left side of Z axis droped again.

When it comes to settings in repetitier-host ‘‘Disable Motors after Job/Kill’’ ‘‘Disable Extruder after Job/Kill’’ and ‘‘Go to Park Position after Job/Kill’’ are not selected.

What could have caused that and how can I fix it?

I’ll appreciate any suggestions :slight_smile:

It’s not something to fix. They’ll drop under their own weight when the steppers are disabled. They will turn off after a bit of time has passed. Best practice is have a parking spot for end of jobs so if it does happen to drop and you’re on the other side of the shop it doesn’t drop into your work piece.

Another way to look at it (as a positive) is that you’ve minimized friction for that side of the axis. Ideally, both sides should behave the same. Why is friction higher on the side that’s not dropping?

I 3D printed these supports that I put in every time before sitting down the lowrider. Also leave them in when using the laser.

The weight of the router is usually on that side.

1 Like

Thank you for your replies, I successfully used lowrider to engrave 1 picture in softwood :slight_smile: