LowRider build thread- location: Kansas

Hello all!

A CNC machine has been something I’ve been dreaming about for quite a few years now, and turns out so has one of my brothers. Then my brother and I started seriously looking into building/buying our own CNC’s mid 2018, and we both ended up going for the CNC’s designed by Ryan here on V1Engineering (obviously). Not only is the price much better than other machines out there, as you all should know, but I personally liked the customization and expansion abilities. While my brother opted for the MPCNC, I wanted something more like the LowRider V2 as I am more looking at doing full 4’x8’ sheet cutting or other larger format CNC-ing. And thus begins the journey.

1" (.065 wall) SS Tubes came in a week ago, so I could finally have my brother print the 25.4mm lowRider parts. So while I await for those to finish printing and for him to come visit next month, I’m in the process of designing the table and cutting out the flat parts. Was looking around at other builds to see if anything was similar to what I had already thought up in my head, and found JJWHarris’s build (https://www.v1engineering.com/forum/topic/new-lowrider-2-build/). The table top is pretty similar to what I was thinking, so I’ve modeled mine in similar fashion.

[attachment file=“102631”]
[attachment file=“102632”]

I used calculation sheet thing (https://jscalc.io/calc/Ea1pVUNBCQdV9cPF) and designed the table to have the “outside” to fit the minimum table size of 111in X 56in, with the “inside” able to fit a full 4’x8’ sheet. Using all 2X3’s. Still working on how I want to do the legs. but looks like doing 6 legs helps with stability/rigidity.
Any design flaws or possible helpful must-haves?

Also, is the spoil board the piece of MDF that will be screwed onto the “torson table” or is the spoil board going to sit on top of that piece of MDF?

Thanks in advance!

2 Likes

Awesome!